top of page

Love Conquers All!

Updated: Jun 17, 2021

At our last family reunion, my cousin placed a big display on an easel which had a picture of Homer, my great grandfather, and a picture of Pearl, my great grandmother both individually encased in glass and framed in two wooden window frames that came out of the homestead house. Above the encased, framed pictures a hand painted sign read:


“All because two people fell in love.”


What a heritage - just in that statement alone! I’ll never forget seeing this display and then looking around the room filled with generation after generation of relatives that flow from that one love. She stood near the display letting us all know that she had a passed down family recipe for homemade cinnamon rolls and she was going to be serving us those cinnamon rolls Sunday morning! I was ALL IN! I’ll say it again, WHAT a heritage! What a heritage love itself is! And OH! How I have come to love my family in the process of working on this project. I am so proud of and thrilled for each family under the umbrella of these two delightful characters, Homer and Pearl Cluck. What a heritage! What a blessing it all is to look back and see and feel a part of. This is one big wild and wonderful family indeed and when I think of it all I just have to sing...


“Oh Lord my God

When I in awesome wonder

consider all the worlds

thy hands have made” …


including this world - the wonderful “world” of this family that I grew up under and have had the privilege of reflecting on for the last several years working on this project…


“Then sings my soul!!!

My Savior God to thee

How Great Thou Art!

How Great Thou Art!”


I have had the most awe-filled experiences during this process, experiences that will change my life forever and I will be forever grateful for it!


“Amor Vincit Omnia!”


This is the Latin translation of the phrase “Love conquers all.” There is no Bible verse that says “Love conquers all.” but there are many verses that support the sentiment of this statement. (Romans 8:37, 1 Corinthians 13, 1 Peter 4:8, and Matthew 22:36-40) Roman poet Virgil is credited with first coining the phrase, and he said it best: “Omnia vincit amor: et nos cedamus amori” which translates, “Love conquers all; let us, too, yield to love!”


We are working in the studio on the final mix of the next song, Adriane Elaine. The release is coming soon!


LOVE to all,

Jill




94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page