top of page

Advent and Family

Updated: Dec 21, 2020

Last night I got a text from my sweet daughter in law, showing me her new Advent calendar and journal. Today I wondered, "How are Advent and family related?" In other words, what do they have to do with each other? "Everything!" I thought. "Salvation started in - was birthed through, family." My thoughts continued. I heard a preacher say, “Once you've left the concept of family, you've left the concept of [the] kingdom [of God.]” So, I continued to stew on this notion. I thought of Acts 16:31 "They answered, "Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved--you and your family." (Good News Translation)


Then I connected it all with 2 Timothy 1:6-7 "Therefore I remind you to stir up the gift of faith in God which is in you through the laying on of hands. 7. For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind."


Wow! I landed here: How amazing it is to share in Advent with your family!


I encourage everyone to begin today sharing your Advent inspirations with members of your family via text, email, over coffee, online cards, video calls - whatever suits you. If there has ever been a time when we needed to encourage each other, stay connected as family, and stir up our faith in God, it's this Christmas season!


Love to all,

Jill


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page