top of page

What I Learned From 10 Funerals

Updated: Sep 22, 2020

I didn't even attend all 10 funerals but still, I learned from them. Each time one of the 10 members of the second generation of my Texas cattle ranching family passed away, the family pulled another spoke out of a ten-spoke wagon wheel and put it on display at the funeral.


Each spoke of a wagon wheel has a critical job. Every spoke holds the rim in place, keeping it stable and strong. Together, the spokes carry and evenly distribute the weight forced upon the wheel along the journey. This empowers the wheel to smoothly carry the load throughout the journey.


What I learned was this: Every single sibling of a generation is gravely important to the purposes of that generation and those purposes are only carried out due to the presence of each and every sibling. I've come to believe that it is a precious thing when we understand the value of our siblings as another spoke in the "wheel" of our heritage. Share this message today with a sibling and let them know how valuable you believe they are to your generation.


On my 55th birthday, September 28, 2020, we are releasing the first single from my 12 song story album. The story spans four generations of my Texas cattle ranching family, with a message to the fifth. The first single, "Cowboy Hats & Cadillacs" has been a favorite among the listeners who've had an opportunity to watch the "Songumentary" film.

"You could always tell when one of Jill's family members had passed away because all you could see was Cowboy Hats and Cadillacs"


143 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page