top of page

The Joy In Prosperity

Updated: Dec 17, 2020

This past Monday morning, I sat down to pray and I heard in my spirit, “Jeremiah 33:11.” Having no clue what it said, I was overwhelmed when I read it. This is my final blog post on the song Fort Worth. The song depicts a time when my dust bowl weary family finally came into financial breakthrough. It is the joy of the entire 12 song story album and I have such a strong sense of the message I am about to share with you here.


I have had dream after dream, and through prayer after prayer, and leading after leading, I have continued to pursue the writing and production of this album and story. I have lived in what I call “soul prosperity” for a few years now and I really never thought I’d get there. In many ways my life could be considered nothing short of tragic. Reflecting on the blessing of my heritage has been one wonderful saving grace for me.


In that leading, from the time I had the Wagon Wheel dream in my apartment in downtown Fort Worth, I have spent hours and hours, year after year pouring over stories about this family heritage and the principles I felt the Lord was asking me to pull from those stories to share with the world. I’m not going to lie. I'm "in over my head" but "no one ever cared for me like Jesus." So, I do my best to follow Him.


So, I was elated when I set out to write a series on the joy of prosperity this week and then heard the Lord say “Jeremiah 33:11.”


...the sounds of joy and gladness, the voices of bride and bridegroom, and the voices of those who bring thank offerings to the house of the LORD, saying, "Give thanks to the LORD Almighty, for the LORD is good; his love endures forever." For I will restore the prosperity of the land as it was before,' says the LORD. (Jeremiah 33:11)


I received this as a real “word from the Lord” about not only our family, but also about the American family. I am convinced - convicted with a truth that this is God’s will for us. So, in this, I pray “God’s will be done on earth as it is in Heaven!” He calls us to rebuild in the ruins for the time has come for us to do this. He is beckoning us, yearning for us to let Him help us live in true prosperity once more - financially, emotionally, relationally, and spiritually.


When I was young, my big huge cattle ranching family would get together for a family reunion or a Christmas party or any occasion or excuse they could find. Every time it was a lit up party where several members would bring guitars and sing songs together. Hours of belly-laughing together over wild tales and witty jokes would ensue. We children ran wild and free and full of every hope for our future because of it. Those parties have long since sadly slipped through the fingers of the hands of time. And I’m here sounding the trumpet, calling for a return to this kind of joy! God only has prosperity for us, family! Whether you are depleted, or even bankrupt financially, relationally, emotionally or spiritually this prosperity is ours for the taking. Even in the middle of captivity, in Jeremiah 29 God assures Israel, just as he assures us today in the captivity of our current situation in America. I resolutely believe that the kind of joy I feel when reflecting on my family's prosperity of that era, as I listen to the song Fort Worth, is exactly what God wants and has for us. How could anyone not want to experience this in their family and for America?


I have plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11)


My great grandmother, Pearl was most often the instigator and ringleader of these extravagant family celebrations. Someone recently told me a story about Pearl. Pearl was apparently alot like Buddy Squyres - a joy carrier. The story was told that Pearl knocked on the door of a neighbor who wasn’t feeling well, then boldy walked in and declared “I’m here to cheer you up!” I want to be more like Pearl. I want to be an instigator and ringleader and carrier of the joy in prosperity.


and speaking of Pearl… (to be continued next week)


I would have despaired had I not believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord, in the land of the living. Wait for and confidently expect the Lord, be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for and confidently expect the Lord. Psalm (27:13-14)


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page