top of page

How Many Clucks Does It Take To Change A Wagon Wheel?

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Well, for starters let me explain what a "Cluck" is. Cluck is the ironic last name of my Texas cattle ranching family - a family I have become increasingly proud to be a part of in my later years, specifically as an American citizen. The Bible talks about how the sins of the fathers visit the future generations and it's up to those generations to turn things around if and when necessary. Every family and every generation experiences this whether we realize it or not. It's really a logical conclusion aside from any biblical principle. Here's an excerpt from a discourse by Thomas Jefferson to James Madison, 1789.


The question whether one generation of men has a right to bind another, seems never to have been started either on this or our side of the water. Yet it is a question of such consequences as not only to merit decision, but place also, among the fundamental principles of every government. ...I suppose that the received opinion, that the public debts of one generation devolve on the next, has been suggested by our seeing habitually in private life, that he who succeeds to lands is required to pay the debts of his ancestor or testator: without considering that this requisition is municipal only, not moral; flowing from the will of the society, which has found it convenient to appropriate lands, become vacant by the death of their occupant, on the condition of a payment of his debts: but that between society and society, or generation and generation, there is no municipal obligation, no umpire but the law of nature. We seem not to have perceived that, by the law of nature, one generation is to another as one independent nation to another. ...This principle that the earth belongs to the living, and not to the dead, is of very extensive application and consequences, in every country.


I had a dream one night while living in an apartment in downtown Fort Worth, Texas where "the Wagon Wheel" - symbolic and representative of the former generations of my family's pioneering existence and efforts here on earth - and all they stood for and still stand for today, came "flyin' from the sky." This Wagon Wheel spoke a message to my soul that has had me scratching my head and searching my heart, contemplating these concepts for decades now. My compassion goes out to those who have carried the burden of sorting these complexities out for society and putting them into an organized form of governmental law. I'll be talking about this in depth in my blog series on my next single, Wagon Wheel.


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page